Bobby On The Loose!


Star Struck
September 2, 2008, 4:26 pm
Filed under: Republican National Convention

Yesterday the convention began, along with my internship working with the Pioneer Press.  I showed up to the convention center early to be able to roam around.  I started walking down Radio Row where dozens of radio show hosts are broadcasting their programs to millions of listeners all over the country.  One of the first people I saw was Brian Kilmeade from Fox and Friends.  He was interviewing former Speaker of the House, Newt Gingrich, about three feet in front of me.

Brian Kilmeade (right) and Newt Gingrich (left)

Brian Kilmeade (right) and Newt Gingrich (left)

I really lucked out in being granted full floor access for the convention.  My job is to run digital camerica cards from the photographer to dark room, and also to get names and information from people who the photographer took pictures of.  It is a good position because I can move around on the floor and it gives me the ablility to bump into politicians and TV personalities left and right.  Yesterday alone, I ran into Mitt Romney, Sean Hannity, Cindy McCain and got within arms reach of Laura Bush.  Unfortuately, I was unable to get pictures with any of these people, but I did get a close shot when Laura Bush walked by.

Lastly, on my way walking out, I spotted Former Pennsylvania Senator Rick Santorum.  I easily approached him and told him that I heard him speak when he came to Temple in the spring. 

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

